13 October 2022


The 2022 AIM WA Leadership Summit brings together the most prominent leaders and business thinkers to share their stories and insights. Join us for one amazing day of inspiration.

This year we will be exploring the future of work. What does the future of diversity and inclusion look like? How will sustainability impact workplaces and what is the role that a purpose driven future plays?

Learn from the experience and expertise of a diverse group of leaders from multiple sectors and disciplines, hand-picked to challenge, inspire and motivate you.

Whether you are just beginning your career journey or are in a senior leadership role, we invite you to join us to rejuvenate your thinking and take home some fresh ideas to apply in your workplace.

To reserve your place at this unmissable event book below or call 9383 8000.

Book Now


Simon Griffiths

CEO & Founder, Who Gives a Crap

<p>Simon Griffiths is an engineer and economist turned social entrepreneur. In 2007, after turning down his dream job offer as a corporate high-flyer, he moved from Australia to South Africa to immerse himself in his true passion: development aid. There he discovered that the biggest problem faced by NGOs and social entrepreneurs is a lack of funding.</p> <p>Driven by a passion to use business to give back, in 2010, Simon had the idea to start a toilet paper company that builds toilets in the developing world. In 2012, he launched Who Gives A Crap with a crowdfunding campaign, agreeing to sit on a toilet on a live web feed until he had pre-sold the first $50,000 of toilet rolls.</p> <p>Since launching, Who Gives A Crap has tripled in size year-on-year, primarily relying on word-of-mouth to fuel its growth. In five years, Who Gives A Crap donated more than $1 million, reaching a milestone in 2020 of $8.3 million. </p>

Elizabeth Shaw

Partner, PwC

<p>Elizabeth Shaw (Beth) advises organisations on people, change, culture, diversity and inclusion and has worked across several industries including police, sport, government, education, retail and resources.</p> <p>She is a Board Member of the Stella Prize, which celebrates excellence in Australian women’s writing and has published widely on diversity issues, including in The Australian, the Australian Financial Review and The Sydney Morning Herald. In recognition of her work driving change across business, government and the community sector, the Australian Financial Review named Beth one of Australia’s 100 most influential women, and WA Business News awarded her the Professional Services Award at the 40Under40 Awards.</p>

Mark McCrindle

Principal, McCrindle

<p>Mark McCrindle is a social researcher with an international following. He is recognised as a leader in tracking emerging issues and researching social trends. He is a best-selling author, an influential thought leader, TEDx speaker and Principal of McCrindle Research. His advisory, communications and research company, McCrindle, count among its clients more than 100 of Australia’s largest companies and leading international brands.</p> <p>Mark’s highly valued research and reports, presented through infographics, data visualisations, videos, media input, resources, and blogs, have developed his regard as an expert demographer, futurist and social commentator. Mark brings a fresh approach to his research based boardroom briefings, executive workshops, strategy sessions and keynotes.</p>


Panel Session 1

Topic: The Future Economy

Nicky Cusworth

Chair, Economic Regulation Authority

<p>Nicky Cusworth was appointed Chair of the Economic Regulation Authority in July 2016 and served in that role until August 2021.</p> <p>Nicky has held senior positions in the Western Australian public service, as Deputy Director General at the Department of State Development and Director of Macro-Economic Policy at the Department of Treasury and Finance. Before that, she spent 15 years as Chief Economist at the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Western Australia. </p>

Marion Fulker AM

Chief Executive Officer, Committee for Perth

<p>Marion Fulker AM is the CEO of the Committee for Perth and an Adjunct Associate Professor at The University of Western Australia. In her role at the Committee, Marion has overseen the development of 140+ pieces of research to understand Greater Perth’s opportunities and challenges. She is also the Chair of Perth Zoo, a board member of Infrastructure Australia, an advisor to Infrastructure WA, Marion was awarded an AM in the 2021 Queen’s Birthday Honours for significant services to urban planning and infrastructure development.</p>




Panel Session 2

Topic: The Future of Sustainability

Kate Chaney MP

Federal Member for Curtin

<p>Kate Chaney is WA’s first female Independent Federal Member of Parliament in the House of Representatives. Previously Kate was Director Innovation &amp; Strategy at Anglicare WA, overseeing strategic planning and driving innovative approaches to positive social changes. She has also held Board roles with a range of organisations including Next 25, Lifeline, Awesome Arts WA and the WA Regional Development Trust. In January 2022 Kate was approached by a grassroots community group - Curtin Independent - to run as an independent candidate. Kate ran on a platform of real climate action, integrity, future-focused economic management and a commitment to building connected, inclusive communities. On May 26, 2022, Kate won the seat of Curtin in a 15.2% swing against the Liberal party.</p>

Professor Peter Klinken

Chief Scientist of Western Australia

<p>Professor Klinken is a leading Western Australian medical research scientist, highly regarded for his work in advancing the understanding of genes involved in leukemia, cancer and anaemia. Under his stewardship, the Harry Perkins Institute attracted world-class researchers to the State and made numerous acclaimed medical discoveries. He also spear-headed the development of two new state-of-the-art medical research facilities at the QEII Medical Centre and Fiona Stanley Hospital. Professor Klinken was appointed a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) in 2017. He was made a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences in 2015 and a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering in 2016.</p>





For group bookings contact Anna Fantasia at afantasia@aimwa.com or 9383 8002

Corporate Gold


Corporate Silver


Corporate Bronze


Corporate Member
Group Rate for 8 people


Professional Member


Non Member
Group Rate for 8 people


Thursday 13 October 2022
8.30am to 6.30pm
Registration from 8.00am


Crown Perth


Keynote Speakers
9:00am - 9:15am

Introduction and Welcome

Professor Gary Martin FAIM
Chief Executive Officer, AIM WA

9:15am - 10:15am

Keynote Presentation

Mark McCrindle, Principal, McCrindle

The Future of Work

10:15am - 10:45am

Morning Tea/Coffee Break

10:45am - 11:45am

Panel Session 1

The Future Economy

Nicky Cusworth, Chair, Economic Regulation Authority

Marion Fulker, Chief Executive Officer, Committee for Perth


11:45am - 12:45pm

Keynote Presentation

Elizabeth Shaw, Partner, PwC
The Future of Diversity and Inclusion

12:45pm - 1:45pm


1:45pm - 2:45pm

Panel Session 2

The Future of Sustainability

Kate Chaney MP, Federal Member for Curtin

Professor Peter Klinken, Chief Scientist of Western Australia



Dr Katrina O'Mara, Senior Lecturer Environmental Mgmt & Sustainability at ECU 

2:45pm - 3:45pm

Keynote Presentation


3:45pm - 4:05pm

Afternoon Tea/Coffee

4:05pm - 5:05pm

Keynote Presentation

Simon Griffiths, CEO & Founder, Who Gives a Crap

The Purpose Driven Future

5:05pm - 5:20pm


Formal Close

Professor Gary Martin FAIM
Chief Executive Officer, AIM WA

5:20pm - 6:15pm

Cocktails & Networking